top of page

Comfort of Mother's Death

As I sit here and read a post on Facebook from my daughter about my mother, her grandmother, I cry. I cry because, I too miss her and wish she was still an active part of my life. I cry because I know the emptiness of my siblings, my father, and nieces and nephews. Our family has always been one of love and unity, but as I type I have to admit we are not as unified as we once were with that lady at the center of us.

I'm thinking this post will release some hurt by the time I finish. I have small meltdowns from time to time, when her birthday is near (less than a month away), during holidays, the anniversary of her death, or simply being in the moment wishing my two youngest daughters (and my grands) could have known her. "Grandma would have loved you" is a constant thought.

The comfort that I do get from her death is that she is with our Father in heaven. She is with her parents, siblings, and other loved ones.

Ecclesiastes 12:7 then shall the dust return to the earth as it was: and the spirit shall return unto God who gave it

I will close this blog for now, and yes I do feel better. Writing is always a great release or it could be from the phone conversation I just had with my baby sister. She is entering into a new phase of her life and I can't imagine the longing she has for our Mother. We are grown women but she is always the baby. Our family continues to grow and love and through it all we will continue to be that source for one another that was instilled by that wonderful lady we call Mommy.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page